Day 11: Perspective

“I am almost caught up with my grading. I only have 2 sets of math packets and my Character Analysis essays to grade.”

My teaching partner looked at me and replied with a laugh, “Well, I am glad you feel almost caught up with your grading because I have those exact things to grade and I am feeling overwhelmed and behind.”

This exchange brought me back about 17 years . . .

Being single and living at home, with a new job teaching 4th grade. My friends would call me to go out and I would have to decline because I was “busy”. Once I got engaged and had to plan a wedding while working full-time, I would roll my eyes (over the phone) when my single friends would say they were busy. Well when I had my first child, I laughed at myself and thought, I thought I was busy before, but now I seriously don’t have time to go to the bathroom. Fast forward to 2018, three kids, a husband, a house, full-time teaching job, kids in sports, taking classes, and heading to the hospital or my parents’ house after work to help out. There were days where I would still meet for coffee at 9:30 pm after all of that, but the days I couldn’t I never said “I was busy” I would just say “I can’t” or “I already have plans”.

So in 2019, instead of thinking of how busy I am and how much I have to get done, I am going to think to myself, Let me get working on checking something off my checklist. Perspective!

4 thoughts on “Day 11: Perspective

  1. there are some weeks when you can always make excuses and be busy, but it is important to make time for friends and sometimes put things to the side from your checklist. I go through waves where I am constantly cancelling, but then miss out on memories and inside jokes for the next time we are hanging out.

    Like

  2. Truths as about busyness well- captured! I keep a tight calendar but always try to make time for things that matter to me.

    Like

  3. So much truth in this, Jenny. Then you try to think about life before marriage, maybe kids and wonder what consumed us or kept us “busy” during those previous moments when we thought we were so busy.

    Like

Leave a comment