Day 2: Procrastinating Overachiever

I am a procrastinator. I miss deadlines and beg for extensions. I will clean my house because I don’t want to work on my paper. I will clean out my email so I don’t have to grade papers.

A few times a year, I am an overachiever. When my district offers classes, I sign up for them and ask if I can get the materials before the class even begins so I can get started. I plan out how I will start right away, get ahead of the due dates, and not stress over the weekends.

And then my two personalities collide and I am a PROCRASTINATING OVERACHIEVER! I have signed up for 4 classes. Three of them end on March 19th and Slice of Life ends on March 31st. I am ahead in my IRC Book Club; I am behind in my Google Level 1 course; I am on time with Slice of Life writing (so far); and I haven’t even started my Edu-Videos class . . . but I am already thinking about taking classes over the summer!

17 thoughts on “Day 2: Procrastinating Overachiever

  1. Haha! I see myself in this post. In college I cleaned my dorm room to avoid homework. While teaching I’d clean closets to avoid grading, but I did keep up on imposed deadlines. I love the term “procrastinator overachiever.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think we all have a little bit of both in us! I took it easy on myself this year! Only two classes this spring. You got this Kouts… you always do!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. HA! I did the videos too. I made myself do 2-3 a week until they were done, but I also forced myself to do them before this started since I am doing the book club too. I am mostly a summer procrastinator; I always feel like I have so much time before the end and put everything off until the week before school starts!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ahhh, I love this! I am also an overachieving procrastinator! I am taking the video IU too and have 2 done… and now the SOL on top of it. It’s fine, everything is FINE! Can’t wait for spring break… let’s not procrastinate on going out to lunch together!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Maybe your procrastination is just a side effect of going with your priorities. At least that’s what I feel it is for me. I was never this way until after I had kids. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I am guilty of procrastinating too. I actually find that I am more productive in the “final hours” than all the time leading up to it. Of course I’m angry at myself for waiting too long and am totally stressed out but I have no one to blame but myself..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Awe. Hang in there. I completely understand where you are coming from. I’ve been doing some pretty crazy things to avoid my own personal school work… I cleaned the crevices of my car with a credit card. 3 hours of my life lost😂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like how the pacing of your writing changes as your feelings become more frantic. Very relatable post.

    Like

Leave a comment