Day 18: Lacking Creativity

My sister and I are throwing a wedding shower for my nephew and his fiancée. Choosing the invitation was the easiest part. My sisters, my nieces, and I all loved this invitation as soon as we saw it. We love the colors and the pretty flowers on the invitation. The difficult part was the wording. His name is long and my sister had to do a lot of editing on the font size and lettering. I took charge of gathering addresses, creating labels, and buying stamps. As much as I didn’t want to I allowed my sister to stuff the envelopes, affix the labels and stamps and send them out. I texted her throughout the day reminding her “Don’t rush. Make sure the labels and the stamps aren’t crooked.” “Make sure it looks neat.” “Don’t make them look sloppy.” I’m sure she rolled her eyes at each text!

Today my sister Chris and I went looking for flowers. Here is where I lack creativity.

What I want: Sends invite to florist, they send me the perfect floral arrangement within a reasonable price point (because we haven’t thought of a budget yet – we want everything to look wonderful without overpaying – how do you budget that?)

What I’m getting: “The invitation is beautiful. Let me know what you were thinking. We could do gold vases, clear, rustic, wood, white. There are so many pretty flowers you could include in the centerpieces (names off a hundred names and I’m waiting to hear something that I recognize, but I don’t). Send me your color palette and some things you were thinking of. Also, let me know what your budget is and we can work with you.”

UGH! I love fresh flowers, but not the compact roses from 20 years ago when I got married. We looked at some succulents and I liked those. I want something that is going to be gorgeous, but not break the bank. I love my boy and I want this shower to reflect the tremendous amount of love my sister and I have for him.

So, I am hoping I find someone that says, “How about this arrangement?” and we absolutely fall in love with it OR I’m leaving it up to my sister who has a lot more creativity than I do. Ideas welcome – pictures appreciated!

Wedding Shower invitation
(notice the long Greek name that we had to fit on ONE line)

3 thoughts on “Day 18: Lacking Creativity

  1. Event planning is a tricky one! I rather like the sound of succulents as centerpieces. They are cute and trendy and can be kept, so there are lasting mementos of the lovely (I’m sure it will be lovely!) wedding shower.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment