Day 20: Three Years!

If you ask me what I was doing on any given day I wouldn’t be able to tell you (with the exception of my wedding day, the day I gave birth, and the day my dad passed away). But I remember March 20, 2018.

I was at La Barra in Oak Brook with my girlfriend, enjoying pizza, pasta, and Cokes. It was just the two of us since the other girls couldn’t make it. That night wasn’t anything different or special than what I do every week or two. That night wasn’t unforgettable. It’s just that it was the last night before my life changed forever!

The next day, March 21, my 9 days into being 10 years old daughter, Tessie was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. I remember everything about that day. I remember being at work and our school secretary coming into my room to tell me my husband is on the phone because I haven’t responded to his text. I remember I was teaching writing. I remember asking him Are you sure it’s not a mistake? I remember walking back into my classroom to grab my things and trying so hard to keep it together in front of my students. I remember stopping by our school social worker’s office and telling her about Tessie and her saying It will be ok. She will be fine. Call me if you need anything. Three days in the hospital learning about how to take care of Tessie once we go back home. On the 3rd day when she was released I was too nervous to leave, so I asked if we could stay until after lunch. Then it turned into leaving after dinner, and then I didn’t check out until 8:00 pm. Instead of taking her home, we went to my parents’ house. I guess you’re never to old to want your mom and dad!

I was invited to join a Facebook page Touched by Type 1 as a support group. They have been a wonderful resource for me. I would see many people post about their child’s Diaversary. I didn’t understand why anyone would celebrate the anniversary of being diagnosed with a lifelong illness. I asked Tessie if she wanted to “celebrate” her Diaversary and of course she was all about a celebration. My husband couldn’t understand why either. After thinking about it, I decided that I will celebrate March 21st with her for as long as she wants to. We’re not celebrating her diagnosis. We are celebrating another year of her being tough. We are celebrating another year of her remaining healthy.

There have been many days/nights that she feels unlucky because of her diabetes and her food allergies. There have been many times that she hates that she can’t eat something because her blood sugar is already too high, as well as the times she doesn’t feel like eating anything but she needs to because her blood sugar is too low. There have been many tears from both of us because sometimes life isn’t fair. I have told her, and myself, it’s ok to be mad, and it’s ok to cry, but it’s not ok to give up.

So today (a day early) we celebrated another year of Tessie being amazing!

6 thoughts on “Day 20: Three Years!

  1. Congratulations to you and your daughter for both being tough and working together to keep her healthy! This slice is tender and powerful at the same time as you take your reader from that day 3 years ago to where you are today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post. I love that you celebrate and why! What a great thing! You’re not celebrating the disease you are celebrating Another year of being tough, another year of being healthy!
    I love that you talk about how it’s ok to be mad or sad and cry, but it’s not ok to give up! These things can go along with so many other tough battles in life!
    Glad she has you and a great family! That’s why she’s not gonna let this beat her!! ❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My favorite line: We’re not celebrating her diagnosis. We are celebrating another year of her being tough.
    You both are so tough in the face of adversity! I’m proud to know you both!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know the diagnosis threw all of you for a loop, but you are amazing with how you have handled it all. Tessie learns from you. Her strength, her bravery, her ability to cry and be angry but to never give up…it all comes from the strength of your family!!

    Like

Leave a comment