Day 5: Dinner with Muddy

I called my mom earlier this week to see if she would be home Friday or Saturday night so the kids and I can come over and have dinner with her. We decided Saturday night would work best.

“We are coming only for dinner. OK, Muddy?”

“OK. I don’t want you to stay too long anyway. You drive me crazy.”

“No I mean I’m not coming from the morning and staying until night.” Which is what I usually do.

“I’m not going to be home anyway during the day. I’m baking at church all day and I won’t come home until 4.”

Around 4:00 I wake all three of my kids up from their afternoon naps (they didn’t nap this well when they were toddlers).

John: “Where are we going?”

Andrew: “John, you’re such an idiot! Mom has told us for the last 4 days that we are going to Muddy’s house for dinner.”

Tessie: “I can’t wait to eat Muddy’s delicious food. I don’t know what she’s making, but it’s all delicious!”

Me: “Um, Muddy isn’t cooking. She’s been baking at church all day so we’re ordering.”

Tessie: “Why don’t we go another day then when Muddy can cook us something?”

We ordered Italian for dinner. Tessie liked her dinner, but she said, “Anything Muddy would have made would have been better.” I started to gather our things and said our goodbyes before I started to drive my mom too crazy.

3 thoughts on “Day 5: Dinner with Muddy

  1. Glad I found your post. I miss all your stories. I hope Tess gets to have her home cooked meal soon. Keep enjoying your family they all sound great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment