Day 6: How Much is Enough?

I love my Girl Scout cookies! I love Tagalongs!

My obsession with these chocolate covered peanut butter cookie patties goes back years. When my dad would order girl scout cookies for us he allowed us to pick 10 boxes each so my sisters and I didn’t fight over the cookies. All ten of my boxes were Tagalongs. Once we no longer were in Girl Scouts we hunted down the neighborhood girls to get our yearly fix.

As I moved into adulthood, I turned to co-workers’ daughters and my nieces to supply me with my obsession. I ordered 30 boxes from my nieces year after year. The Girl Scout Cookie Mom was trying to be helpful when I picked up the cookies by offering me advice, “The cookies freeze really well. That way they don’t go bad by the time you enjoy them all”

“Oh! They won’t have time to go bad. They’ll all be gone in a month.”

She looked at me trying to figure out if I was joking or not. Sadly, I wasn’t. I would eat a box of Tagalongs everyday for the next 30 days.

I have since cut down drastically in my order. Last month I ordered only 10 boxes. They were gone 5 days later. I knew I have to wait 360 days before I would taste them again.

Until today. I went to Mariano’s and right outside the door was a Girl Scout Troop selling Girl Scout cookies. I spotted the red box and excitedly said, “I’ll take all of your Tagalongs.”

“We only have 2 boxes left.”

I sadly handed over my $10. I guess 2 boxes will have to be enough.

4 thoughts on “Day 6: How Much is Enough?

  1. Seriously, I have asked myself this before, what is it about chocolate and peanut butter? It is like one of the best flavor combinations ever created. Salty, sweet, savory, bitter (depending on the chocolate)! Just plain delicious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment