Day 10: Phone Call

Sitting on the couch, I hear the dings coming through my phone:

My sisters asking if we heard from my cousin about a construction project he is doing for my mom.

My nieces and my kids on our family group text posting funny memes, old photos of the kids, pictures of my dad, videos of when they were younger, and lots of jabs at each other.

My girlfriends (-1) planning our friend Jane’s 50th birthday celebration. She is the 1st to turn 50 in the group so we are trying to figure out where we will take her to celebrate.

Then the phone rings: my nephew, Kosta. He is heading home from the city, so he decided to call me on his drive home.

“Hey Kooks. I thought I would call like the younger person I am.”

In Greek, there is a saying that you would do things for your elders out of respect. My parents many times would say, “Can you get me a glass of water, since you’re younger.” When Kosta was away at college and I wouldn’t hear from him I would call him and say, “Hey Kosta. I thought I would call you like the younger person I am,” and he would respond, “Thank you, young one for thinking of your elder.”

“Yes, yes! I’m glad you did, Elder. What’s going on?” We both laughed.

“Nothing. I haven’t talked to you in awhile and I wanted to see how you guys are doing.”

We talked for the next half hour about everything and nothing in particular. I treasure my relationship with all my nieces, but Kosta was my first nephew, the only nephew for 5 years before his sister came along. On his 16th birthday they had gone out to eat as a family and I surprised him by stopping by to just say “Happy Birthday” in person and later than night he sent me a text saying, “You surprising me was the best birthday gift. Happy 16th Anniversary of being best friends”. I love him with my whole heart!

11 thoughts on “Day 10: Phone Call

  1. How wonderful it is to bond with a family member in a way that is unique when compared to everything else. It seems the love you have for one another is cemented by communicating on many days in many ways – and what once was a simple beginning will last a lifetime. Enjoyed this slice, especially with the pictures provided. How beautiful.

    Enjoy this wonderful and special relationship!

    ~Carla Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Being an aunt is the best! Well there are 10 of us. Two turn 50 in 2021 and 5 of us in 2022. So we want to do something that we can do for the rest of the 9 girls. Plan is a nice gift and dinner at RPM Seafood.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment